Sunday, February 20, 2011

Lenape HS Hires McAneney as Football Coach

by Jeff Fisher
New Jersey High School Football Huddle

After a couple of head coaching at private schools, Tim McAneney is moving onto a head coaching position at a public school.

The 42-year old McAneney, who coached at Bishop Eutace and Holy Cross, is the new head coach at Lenape High School.  He takes over for Greg Harvey, who resigned after a 4-6 season.

McAneney led Holy Cross to a NJSIAA Non-Public Group B state title in 2008.

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Dowling Out After Two Tough Years at Brick Township

by Jeff Fisher
New Jersey High School Football Huddle

Following a high school football legend with back-to-back 4-6 seasons has led to Patrick Dowling not being asked back as the head coach at Brick Township.

Dowling replaced Warren Wolf, who prior to his retirement was the school's only football coach and one of the winningest head coaches in New Jersey high school football history.  At the time of his retirement, Wolf was very outspoken that his replacement should have either played or coached for him.

Dowling was neither, and that upset Wolf and the community.

Tuesday, February 15, 2011

22 New Jersey High School Lineman Honored with Lombardi Award

by Jeff Fisher
New Jersey High School Football Huddle

22 of New Jersey top senior linemen will be honored next month by the Rotary Clubs of Monmouth County along with the Center for Vocational Rehabilitation at the 39th Annual Vince Lombardi Awards.

The awards honor Monmouth County's outstanding linemen that best exemplify the traditions and ideals of the legendary coach. Each lineman receives a "Blocks of Granite Trophy" that symbolizes the 1936 Fordham football team's Seven Blocks of Granite. Lombardi was the right guard of that famous line.

Here's the list of this year's honorees....

Matthew Conte - Shore Regional
Brian Crosby - Middletown North
Robert Doherty – Allentown
Tim Donahue - Howell
Nick Dragonetti - St. John Vianney.
John Faccas -, Matawan Regional
Ryan Greenwood - Monmouth Regional
Connor Hayes, - Ocean Township
Mark Kapnick - Colts Neck
Christian Marchena - Raritan
Chris Marciano - Holmdel
Thomas Masi - Middletown South
Andrew Morgenbesser - Manalapan
James Parnell- Long Branch
Adam Rihacek - Freehold Township
Mike Russell - Red Bank Catholic
Dwight Sheehan – Mater Dei
Max Spano - Marlboro
Harrison Stokes - Freehold
Greg Velasco - Keyport
Ronald Vilardi - Red Bank Regional
Sam Waters - Rumson Fair Haven

Also honored at the March 3rd award ceremony will be Shore Regional as the team of the year after winning the NJSIAA Central Jersey Group 1 championship.  Jared Gurczeski of Raritan High School will receive the John Tuggle Award that is given to an athlete who has overcome adversity, met overwhelming challenges and succeeded.

Rumson-Fair Haven's Shane Fallon will be honored as Coach of the Year.

Tuesday, February 08, 2011

Phillipsburg HS Names Replacement for Legendary Bob Stem

by Jeff Fisher
New Jersey High School Football Huddle

Ryan Ditze has the task of following a legendary coach at Phillipsburg High School.

The 36-year old Ditze, who played his high school at the now-defunct All Saints Regional High School in Phillipsburg, is the new head coach of the Stateliners, who has to follow in the footsteps of Bob Stem

Affectionately know as "Stemmy", Bob Stem won 285 games in 34 years as a head coach at P'burg (two stints) and Bethlehem Catholic in Pennsylvania.  Included in the 285 wins was two Pennsylvania state championships and four state sectional titles.

During his college days, Ditze was an All-American receiver at Albright College.  For the past several seasons, Ditze was an assistant coach at Freedom High School in Pennsylvania.

The Stateliners are the winningest football program in New Jersey.  

Wednesday, February 02, 2011

New Jersey - 2011 National Signing Day

Justin Adams (Notre Dame, WR) - Lafayette
Anthony Alosi (The Hun School, OL) - Penn St.
Quinton Alston (Timber Creek, LB) - Iowa
Bill Belton (Winslow Twp., Ath) - Penn St.
Mike Bimonte (Manalapan, QB) - Rutgers
Shilique Calhoun (Middletown North, DE) - Michigan St.
Paul Canevari (Don Bosco Prep, FB) - Rutgers
Lukw Chiarolanzio (Delbarton School, OL) - Lafayette
Charles Davis (Neptune, DB) - Rutgers
Cameron Dickerson (Bergen Catholic, WR) - Northwestern
Cole Farrand (Pope John XXIII, LB) - Maryland
Anthony DiPaula (St. John Vianney, P) - Rutgers
Kyle George (Willingboro, DE) - Rutgers
Savon Huggins (St. Peter's Prep, RB) - Rutgers
Max Issaka (Woodbridge, DE) - Rutgers
Keith Lumpkin (St. Peter's Prep, OL) - Rutgers
Angelo Mangiro (Roxbury, OL) - Penn St.
Ben Martin (Absegami, RB) - Rutgers
Shane Mertz (Raritan, OL) - Northwestern
Shutang Mungwa (Bergen Catholic, DB) - Syracuse
Gary Nova (Don Bosco Prep, QB) - Rutgers
Austin O'Brien (Shawnee, K/P) - Lafayette
Ameer Richardson (Collingswood, DB) - Boston College
Jared Roberts (Woodbury/Loomis Chaffee School, DB) - Lafayette
Anthony Sarao (Holy Spirit, LB) - USC
Ross Scheuerman (Allentown, TB) - Lafayette
Miles Shuler (Long Branch, WR) - Rutgers
Daryl Stephenson (Sayreville, DL) - Rutgers
Sean Tobin (St. John Vianney, LB) - Georgia Tech
Marquise Wright (Paramus Catholic, DL) - Rutgers
Connor Wujciak (Seton Hall Prep, DL) - Boston College
Custom Search